fbpx

Sea Quest Kayak Tour Reviews

Why Choose Sea Quest

orcasbald eaglesmarine lifeday tripwildlifejellyfisheducationalkelpporpoiseswhale watchingkidsadventurecamping
Doug C. Avatar
Doug C.
6/12/2024
Very enjoyable outing. Sea Quest did a nice job of setting realistic expectations regarding orca sightings. Went in with open mind and enjoyed the trip. Martine did a great job of informing, educating and entertaining us during the outing. No orca but lots of other wildlife and gorgeous scenery. Highly recommend
read more
Escape801479 Avatar
Escape801479
5 star rating
6/07/2024
We had never been sea kayaking, but our awesome guide Liam made it totally easy and fun. It was a beautiful tour with views and some wildlife. Another bonus was learning about the San Juan Island landscape, history, and lifestyle. Highly recommend!
read more
Glad M. Avatar
Glad M.
4/15/2024
Let me just first say that i read a lot of reviews from people complaining about having to help carry the kayaks off of the truck and into the water and let me just say that if that low amount of physical labor inconveniences you… you probably shouldn't be going kayaking in the ocean. ANYWAY the tour is just such an amazing experience whale or no whales. Our tour guide ben was super knowledgable and obviously cared a lot about the wildlife. Took us to some rads spots and just overall felt super comfortable and very easy going. Felt like if we had a suggestion or something we wanted to do or see he would have been all ears. My man, thanks a bunch -Mati and Carter
read more
Candice H. Avatar
Candice H.
4/14/2024
If you want to experience the beautiful islands of Washington state while exploring the water, Ben is your guy! Absolutely will be booking again for all of my future water/camping adventures. You will gain lots of new knowledge which will not only allow you to have a great time on the water, but you will also feel safe!
read more
Stephanie M. Avatar
Stephanie M.
Washington
5 star rating
4/13/2024
Convenient pickup and a helpful and extremely competent guide for the bioluminescent tour. Great experience and we look forward to future adventures.
read more
Yuqiu W. Avatar
Yuqiu W.
4/07/2024
excited to be the first group to see the bioluminance this year. Ben has been our guide and he did really above and beyond. It's a very rewarding Saturday night!
read more
Alex O. Avatar
Alex O.
4/04/2024
Our guide Martine was very knowledgeable in discussing about safety, and identifying the surrounding fauna and flora. She was invitingly friendly (same with our chauffeur Adam!) and tentative to ensuring both me and my sister were having a great time— which we did! The resting spots we had allowed us to soak in the silent beauty of the nature surrounding Dinner Island.
read more
Scott B. Avatar
Scott B.
4/04/2024
Did a three day private lessons to prep me for a four day solo journey with Ben(owner). He did a fantastic job prepping me before I departed, ensuring I felt safe and confidant and then supported me the entire trip. Was not disappointed ever!
read more
Adam B. Avatar
Adam B.
3/28/2024
Our group had a great time with our guides Ben and Martijn! They were flexible and adaptive to our group's needs and the inclement weather, ensuring the safety and satisfaction of everyone. We'd love to come back and work with them again!
read more
Sara S. Avatar
Sara S.
3/11/2024
We took a trip to San Juan Island last July (2023) and spontaneously booked a bioluminescence kayak tour. It was the most amazing experience we’ve ever had! Our guides, Eliza and Luke, were kind and knowledgeable. All of the gear and instruction were great and despite never having sea kayaked, our whole family felt comfortable and confident. Once we got out on the water, it was magical! The bioluminescence was beautiful and we even heard whales spouting nearby! I was so glad we happened to be visiting at the right time and found this company for a tour. 10/10 would highly recommend to anyone! The owner, Ben, followed up with us after the trip to ensure we had a good time. If you have even the slightest interest in doing something like this, don’t hesitate to book this adventure with them!
read more
Ann M. Avatar
Ann M.
11/11/2023
Great kayak experience. Ben was very accommodating with our schedule and took us on a great 3 hour tour of Jackson Beach bay where we saw birds, eagle, seals and a great blue Herron.
read more
Jane P. Avatar
Jane P.
11/11/2023
It was an awesome tour and we got to learn lots of the island.
read more
Lyndsey M. Avatar
Lyndsey M.
11/11/2023
The bioluminescence kayak tour was phenomenal. Ben was an amazing guide! One of the coolest things I’ve ever done by far.
read more
Maisy W. Avatar
Maisy W.
11/11/2023
Had a great time out on the water with Ben! He was very knowledgeable and we felt safe even with some pretty strong wind. Got to see lots of harbor seals among other wildlife! Would recommend to anyone looking for a challenging but memorable way to explore the area.
read more
Zachary S. Avatar
Zachary S.
10/13/2023
Ben our guide was great! Lovely way to spend time in San Juan island
read more
Kirsten T. Avatar
Kirsten T.
10/09/2023
We had a perfect day out on the water with Ben. My husband and I were in a triple kayak with our 14 year old. The San Juan Islands are a magical place, full of wildlife and so peaceful.
read more
Karen L. Avatar
Karen L.
10/09/2023
Ben was great! He was very flexible with us in accommodating our specific needs. Had a gorgeous paddle on Griffin Bay.
read more
George K. Avatar
George K.
9/29/2023
This was my first time kayaking and the kayak tour with SeaQuest exceeded my expectations! Our 2 tour guides JJ and Julia were simply awesome, very professional and fun at the same time, with great personalities, and sharing lots of information as they guided us around the stunning coast of San Juan Island in our kayaks. We got to see Orcas, Seals, stop at beautiful remote beaches and enjoy the stunning landscape of the San Juan Islands! Overall a fantastic experience that i would do again anytime!
read more
Josh B. Avatar
Josh B.
9/18/2023
Great trip with Martine as our guide. We were in for a family wedding with limited time and she absolutely helped us make the most of it. We saw plenty of harbor seals, some bald eagles and lots of other wildlife. As a side from reading other reviews: kayaks are not exceptionally heavy and we all carried it down the 40 feet or so as a group. Two men and 2 women, zero trouble. I’m not certain why anyone would book a tour which requires you to be physically active and then be upset when you have to actually be active. Great operator and would absolutely use again.
read more
Stacy M. Avatar
Stacy M.
9/18/2023
Had a wonderful time night kayaking to see the bioluminescents. The guides Ben and Will were great and kind and helpful. The bioluminescents were so beautiful and I am glad I had this experience with Sea Quest Kayak Tours.
read more
joshua d. Avatar
joshua d.
9/18/2023
Fantastic overnight tour with Cody! From the great food, to organized schedule, friendly folks and multiple picturesque stops - Would definitely recommend!!
read more
ing w. Avatar
ing w.
9/17/2023
our paddle under the stars with Julia was amazing! She was terrific and seeing the bioluminescent water was magical
read more
dentonphillips Avatar
dentonphillips
9/16/2023
This was a spectacular experience to see the bioluminescence in the water while kayaking. Our guides JJ and Nathan took great care of us and lead an amazing tour. We all had a fantastic time.
read more
Katy C. Avatar
Katy C.
9/15/2023
We had the best time at the sunset kayaking tour with Ben. Ben led us to an area of rocks with a family of harbor seals lounging about. The baby seals were so cute and we were close enough to see their little whiskers. Also saw some cool jellyfish and sea birds. A very memorable experience—highly recommend if you’re visiting the islands.
read more
Kenyacktie H. Avatar
Kenyacktie H.
9/12/2023
I recent went on the Quest Kayak Tour along with a friend. It was my first time in a kayak. Quest made the tour safe, engaging and informative. I had a great time and gained a new experience.
read more
Juliana D. Avatar
Juliana D.
5 star rating
9/11/2023
We had a great time on our kayak rental! Sea Quest was great about booking us in a last minute reservation. One of the few places that does rentals after Labor day.
read more
Ian L. Avatar
Ian L.
5 star rating
9/11/2023
Had a great time! Sea Quest had our rental right in time. Delivered it to the ferry dock and had us on our way. The equipment worked great, no break downs, no problems. Had only good times paddling thru amazing scenery. They made the drop off go so smoothly, just took out our gear and the picked the boat up. Couldn’t have had a better time!
read more
media thumbnail 0media thumbnail 1media thumbnail 2media thumbnail 3
Brett W. Avatar
Brett W.
Lower Queen Anne, Seattle, WA
5 star rating
9/05/2023
While we didn't spot any whales, our guide Caleb made this trip an incredible experience! He was friendly, funny, and patiently answered all our many questions with his vast knowledge of the local marine life and surrounding ecosystem. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to explore the San Juan Islands; we'll be back for an overnight trip next year
read more
Isaac G. Avatar
Isaac G.
9/03/2023
The guide was very knowledgeable which made the tour interactive and interesting!
read more
Luis D. Avatar
Luis D.
8/28/2023
Incredible experience. 3 day self guided tour in August. The sites were amazing. Ben(owner)'s support for our plan was amazing. Eliza was super at helping us in and out and giving us last minute tips. Overall the absolute best Kayak company I have ever worked with after 12 years of extensive guide and expedition experience!
read more
Stephanie T. Avatar
Stephanie T.
8/28/2023
The Bioluminescence Kayak tour was AMAZING! Great guides, great location, great vibes, great experience!
read more
Katie K. Avatar
Katie K.
8/27/2023
I chose Sea Quest for our girls church summer activity. Sea Quest had the best price and the most experience. The office worked well with me as I planned our 3 day event. Honestly our trip was amazing. Everyone had a once in a lifetime sort of experience. Our guides were JJ, Greg and Chad and I trusted them completely. They custom fit the trip for our needs and experience and showed us a amazing time.
read more
Lisa B. Avatar
Lisa B.
8/27/2023
Fun, challenging, beautiful scenery. Great guide. Good meals
read more
Samantha R. Avatar
Samantha R.
8/23/2023
Absolutely amazing! Suan Juan Islands are beautiful and the tour guides Chad and Greg we're very nice, helpful, and very informative. Highly recommend!!!
read more
johanna l. Avatar
johanna l.
8/23/2023
I booked a Bioluminescence with Sea Quest Kayak tours. Our guide was professional, informative and outstanding. We had the perfect condition to appreciate the stunning sparkling lights that were emitted by the plankton :).
read more
Ashley A. Avatar
Ashley A.
Central Scottsdale, Scottsdale, AZ
5 star rating
8/23/2023
We had a group of four that was fortunate enough to go out on the bioluminescence tour with a new moon and a meteor shower. The bioluminescence was absolutely beautiful and the tour was awesome! our guide Gabriel was so easy to talk to, helped us when we needed it and let us have fun and paddle around when we wanted. All four of us were experienced paddlers and it was so fun to go out with a guide like Gabriel. It was like paddling with a friend! Thank you to Sea Quest for this awesome experience!
read more
Alayna H. Avatar
Alayna H.
8/14/2023
I had an amazing time at the Bioluminescence 3 Hour Kayak Tour on Saturday, August 12. We had the opportunity to Kayak with Ben and Jeff, who were so kind and helpful. They provided us with equipment that was in great condition. We also got to see a meteor shower, along with the glowing bioluminescence, something I will never forget. Thank you Sea Quest for the amazing experience!!!!
read more
Christopher K. Avatar
Christopher K.
8/13/2023
Booked an evening tour around Griffin Bay. Our guide, Greg, was knowledgeable and friendly. The kids were thrilled to see the seals and eagles around Dinner Island. Will definitely book again next time we're on the island!
read more
Jade B. Avatar
Jade B.
8/12/2023
Eliza took us on an incredible overnight tour of the islands! 10/10 would recommend for a solo or family trip. The entire team is friendly, knowledgeable, and experienced.
read more
Zack Avatar
Zack
8/12/2023
Caleb was a knowledgeable and fun host. He pointed out wildlife, knew about the history of the area, and could name every land mark we saw. He was positive and patient with our kids and created great memories for my family and our first time in a kayak!
read more
Compass161159 Avatar
Compass161159
5 star rating
8/11/2023
We had a wonderful time we did the three day women's kayak trip two of us over 70 and two under 30 each traveling independently. Eliza was our tour guide she was delightful knowledgeable compassionate and a lot of fun to be with. And her cooking was great also. I initially thought we were being a bit short-changed because three days isn't really three days it's more like two and a half however by the end of the tour I was not complaining at all it was the right length we were able to get back in time for our Ferry to be able to drive back to Portland where we had to catch flights. So thank you very much for giving me/us a wonderful wonderful Adventure and kudos to Eliza
read more
Haigh A. Avatar
Haigh A.
8/10/2023
After years of kayaking around the east coast we decided it was time to checkout the famed San Juan Islands. We reached out to Ben, inquiring on a self-guided trip 3 day trip that included remote camping, longer days and a schedule that enable us to deal with the ever-changing tides. Not only did he help us develop a rock solid plan, but he even went so far as to make us our own personal video outlining various logistical and geographic details for our selected trip. Simply exceptional. The flexibility, professionalism and quality of the vessels + gear was exactly what we were looking for - 5/5 trip and 5/5 company. Would we come back and use Sea Quest again? Absolutely. Thanks Ben & team for the incredible experience.
read more
Rupert M. Avatar
Rupert M.
8/09/2023
JJ was a super guide. Our party consisted of 2 adults (50 plus) and a 12 year-old. We have limited experience in kayaking and JJ took us through all the steps. Booking in and signing all the waivers was also very easy. We did it on the ferry using our iPhones! We took the 5-hour cruise and remembered to take packed lunch with us. Meeting up was straightforward and we were driven to the launch location and provided with all the kit. I would certainly recommend this company which is small and very well-run.
read more
Sandy R. Avatar
Sandy R.
8/08/2023
Is there a 6th star? Sea Quest Tours gets my highest recommendation. Our guide Chad lead us on an epic adventure full of beautiful scenery, views of wildlife, and a lovely night of camping (with an amazing dinner!)
read more
Goodtimes P. Avatar
Goodtimes P.
8/08/2023
Our non-profit organization has used Sea Quest for years and continue to book our multi-day young-adult adventure camp with them. They have great customer service, nice equipment, and fantastic guides (like Eliza and Martine)! Having been a long-time customer, we'd recommend their services for a day paddle or a multi-day trip.
read more
ANNandJUNE-Colorado Avatar
ANNandJUNE-Colorado
Colorado
5 star rating
8/07/2023
SEA QUEST KAYAK TOURS IS THE BEST! My wife and I did the 3-hour sunset tour with our 14-year old granddaughter.
Laura (in reservations) answered the phone whenever I called. She promptly answered all emails. The booking process was so easy. Laura was friendly and professional. She had the answers to every question. She even moved the tour time to accommodate our schedule. GIVE LAURA A RAISE!
Ben, our guide, was great. He was friendly, enthusiastic and focused on our safety. He was very knowledgeable about the area. He made sure everybody was having a good time. My wife was in his kayak and he took time to ensure she felt comfortable and safe.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND SEA QUEST KAYAK TOURS!!!
read more
Andrea C. Avatar
Andrea C.
7/30/2023
Sea Quest Kayak Tours are amazing. I was on the 5-day trip lead by Caleb. It was the most challenging and most amazing thing I have done. Caleb was a wonderful guide. He is so knowledgeable about everything we were seeing and experiencing. It was obvious how much he loves both the area and his job. He is also a fantastic cook! For anyone thinking about doing this trip solo I can recommend it. Our group was made up of one couple and three solo travelers. I loved meeting and getting to know the other people in the group. We started as strangers and ended the week as friends. If you are concerned that the experience might be too physically challenging do not worry. The guides take everyone's physicality and experience into account when planning the trip. Plus, it is wonderful to see what you are capable of. I am a 50+ year old, out of shape, overworked mom and I had the best time. I was both tired and energized at the end of every day. As a result, I had the four best night's sleep I have had in years. Thank you for such a wonderful experience. I hope to return with my children so that I can share it with them.
read more
Nancy D. Avatar
Nancy D.
5 star rating
7/29/2023
We loved our three day June 23-25 kayaking and camping tour with SeaQuest!. Eliza and Matthew were our guides. They were very safety conscious while making sure we all had what we needed to thoroughly enjoy the trip. Their camaraderie set the tone for the trip as we greatly enjoyed the other group participants who we had never met. We saw aquatic and avian wildlife and enjoyed the picturesque campsites we stayed in. The food was tasty and plentiful. It was so easy to use the website and book the trip. A wonderful experience with an amazing kayaking company Highly recommend it!
read more
Andrew H. Avatar
Andrew H.
7/26/2023
We had the most amazing 2 day kayaking and camping trip with Sea Quest and our guide Gabriel! There were only two of us on this particular voyage, so we basically got a private tour of western San Juan Island. Camping on Posey Island was lovely -- I've rarely seen such spectacular sunsets. The dinner (burritos) and breakfast (french toast) were delicious, particularly after a long day full of paddling. We didn't see any orcas (apparently none had been in the area for several days), but that was fine because we got to see so many other aspects of the ecosystem including seals, fish, bald eagles and other birds, kelp forests, and more. Gabriel was really knowledgeable, friendly, and enthusiastic. He made our trip truly unforgettable!
read more
Keith M. Avatar
Keith M.
7/26/2023
Guides were very personable, accommodating and knowledgeable.
read more
Judy B. Avatar
Judy B.
7/26/2023
Gary was such a knowledgeable and helpful guide for us older newer kayakers. Really knows his stuff about the area and made it a pleasant experience.
read more
p e. Avatar
p e.
Kirkland, WA
5 star rating
7/26/2023
I signed up for a one day private class to work on kayak rolling. Communication and follow-up was very good. My instructor, Matt, was really enthusiastic and eager to do a good job. I enjoyed the class and would definitely come back.
read more
Robert C. Avatar
Robert C.
Boerne, Texas
5 star rating
7/24/2023
Greg and Caleb did a fantastic job taking his around the shoreline of the island. Stopped at a small island for lunch and Greg did an incredible job educating us on the local fauna and flora and Caleb is very knowledgeable about geology and local mountains ranges. They did a great job and we had a wonderful time with our family.
read more
Dana C. Avatar
Dana C.
Boerne, TX
5 star rating
7/23/2023
Greg and Caleb did a great job leading our group. They provided a lot of interesting facts about the area, wildlife and sea life. Very informative and fun
read more
Jeff D. Avatar
Jeff D.
7/23/2023
Matt and Isabella were in my opinion the optimal guides for this adventure. I learned much about how to properly paddle a kayak, and much more. They were very pleasant, and really care about everyone having a great experience. Would recommend to a friend.
read more
Kronus G. Avatar
Kronus G.
7/23/2023
This was a trip I had been looking to make since I was a kid, so to say I was excited would be an understatement. I did the 5 day trip and while it was exhausting, every bit of it was worth it because of our guide Caleb. He kept a steady pace throughout as well as made sure everyone in the group had been accomodated, which is impressive considering the 50 plus miles we kayaked with sudden wind/current changes lol! Did I mention the man can cook?! We also explored each island, to which he was very knowledgeable and engaging with the area and wildlife. Seeing the harbor seals, bald eagles, and porpoises in their natural state was beautiful. Unfortunately we did not see any orca which is no ones fault, nothing was promised. So if that's considered a non negotiable, save yourself the disappointment and money. Overall with what all I listed above on top of hanging with a great group, I'd definitely recommend these guys if you're considering a trip!
read more
Bird B. Avatar
Bird B.
7/23/2023
Definitely the best outfit on San Juan Island for kayak tours. I really enjoyed the emphasis on Natural History and the quality Equipment. I was impressed that the owner himself picked us up and drove us to launch Beach. As a family man and business owner I value the fact that Sea Quest is a locally-owned and family run business that cares deeply about their guests experiences.
read more
David R. Avatar
David R.
Fair Oaks, CA
5 star rating
7/21/2023
An amazing day, got my daughter and sister out on the ocean for the first time! Saw bald eagles and lots of harbor seals. The currents were at times challenging but just added to the adventure. Greg & Isabella were engaging and very informative. Looking forward to doing it again soon!
read more
Denise S. Avatar
Denise S.
7/21/2023
Lovely one day kayak. Gorgeous scenery. They picked us up at 11 am. Excellent equipment with splash skirts. My only complaint is they said they said they would have us back at 5 pm and we got back at 4:25 pm. The ferry was not until 6:30 pm. I would have preferred a more leisurely pace, and a 5 pm return. Highly recommend! Great day !
read more
dana s. Avatar
dana s.
7/18/2023
Gabriel was awesome! He was very patient and helpful. We had a great time with our group
read more
  • 1
  • 2
  • 14
  • >

We think you’ll find it interesting to read a few comments from veterans of our sea kayak tours. We present several kayak trip reviews on this page that depict our overall commitment to excellence.

I wanted to thank you for an excellent sea kayaking trip. My father and I enjoyed your friendly guides and seeing the killer whales, porpoises, and other creatures at home in the wild. Happy summer. I’m sure I’ll see you again!

Lisa Larrabee, Sacramento, CA

I was pleasantly surprised to find that the guide Chris was not only highly informed, but he was also a wonderful cook and a great kayaking partner. He was able to identify all the breathtaking wildlife we encountered and tell us the stories of their evolution and placement in the cycle of things. He also was able to share a vast understanding of how the land was carved and how nature has miraculously survived the hardships of growth among humankind. Despite being a city girl far removed from my own environment, I felt a comfort and safety, which allowed me the freedom to fully absorb the beauty around me. This can be greatly credited to Chris’ competency as a guide and sensitivity as a person. Reading poetry by the campfire was an added treat. The food was a culinary surprise. I would never have expected such hearty, healthy, and delicious meals from the cargo hold of a sea kayak. I would give the overall quality of my experience the highest rating. I commend you not only for a wonderful vacation but also for the respect and sensitivity your organization holds towards the environment. Thank you again for a beautiful experience.

Julie Anne Fiore, Revere, MA

The travel tips, packing instructions and checklists were very helpful and complete. Even as first-time rookies we felt well prepared! Alexandra is an outstanding guide. The depth and breadth of her knowledge is simply amazing. She taught us about plants, animals, marine life, geography, oceanography, history, and meteorology. She is an effective instructor, a caring over-seer, and a superb cook. And she inspires fun and laughter with her delightful sense of humor. Alex was always responsive to our requests for advice or help with special needs. She skillfully kept our pace challenging yet achievable. She helped us accomplish far more than I ever expected we could. Alex was extremely competent and that inspired our confidence – both in her and in us! Every piece of equipment we used was clean and in excellent condition. All meals were well balanced and delicious – the portions were very generous. Alex superbly prepared everything. Because every facet of the kayak tour was outstanding, the overall quality of my experience was superb! I would recommend Sea Quest Kayak Tours to anyone!

Jane Debelak, Apple Valley, MN

Your checklist was great and my husband was given complete and polite answers both times he phoned with additional questions. We were surprised at how stable our sea kayaks were as it was our first experience with this sport. We stayed perfectly dry too. (Not only in the kayaks but also in our tent when it rained.) The guide was outstanding…full of information about everything we saw, great sense of humor, articulate, and conscientious about everyone’s safety. This was the most fun and exciting experience our family remembers from any vacation. We’ve been raving to everyone about it. We plan to return on a longer trip next year! Our heartfelt thanks to you.

Judy Fessenden, Camarillo, CA

The gift of self is priceless – you have redefined ‘above and beyond’. The kayak trip was more than anyone had dared hope for. You were awesome. PS – See you next year!

Tammy Belcher, Glendale, AZ

I am making a special effort to thank you for your flexibility and the extra time you took to make arrangements for me. All the extra effort paid off in a very enjoyable and rewarding experience. Kevin is a wonderful guide. All aspects of the kayak tour were top-notch. I plan to return to kayak with you again. Thanks for a premier sea kayaking experience. 

J Pizzino MD, Cary, NC

Your kayak guides are beyond words! Their expertise made the trip. What can we say… they were awesome, enthusiastic, and best of all they were just plain fun to be with!

Michelle and Brian Feeley, Philadelphia, PA

The experience was full of incredible sights, great laughs and enough adventure to get the adrenaline flowing – big time!

Bob Barut, Prospect Heights, IL

I would never go kayaking again without a biologist guide. We learned so much which gave us a deep appreciation of the wildlife, the islands, and the sea.

Jim Williams, Tacoma, WA

I don’t have enough praise for your staff, they made the trip! Their joy and enthusiasm, wit and intelligence, and superior people skills surpass any guided tour I’ve taken before – diving trips, Outward Bound, all of them. 

Anne Norton, Wasilla, AK

I found the equipment to be of the highest quality and in very good condition. I don’t believe I have ever been so relaxed and at peace with myself after a vacation. As my boyfriend put it, ‘she didn’t stop smiling from the time we got back until she fell asleep that night’.

Gloria Fields, Beaverton, OR

Being one with nature sea kayaking last week seems almost a dream now that we’re back to our busy work routine. We appreciated the organization and preparation that went into making the expedition so enjoyable and relaxing. It was interesting to learn about marine life, and thrilling to see the Dall’s porpoises leaping around the kayaks! The meals were truly gourmet, thanks to your good cooking – you made it seem easy to feed such a large group in the wilderness. The group felt safe and well looked after with your kayak guides. Thank you.

Evelyn Anderson, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. I’ve recommended Sea Quest to everyone. I was very impressed with how well organized the trip was. I learned a lot and had a great time doing it. Both kayak guides were loads of fun – which made the trip! They made it look effortless but I know they were always working. Thanks.

Jane Akers, Seattle, WA

As long-time outdoors people lacking kayaking experience, we respect and appreciate the high quality of your services and your equipment. Sea Quest is truly a class act! Thank you doing such an outstanding jobs of introducing us to kayaking and to the natural magnificence of the San Juan Islands.

Carolyn Altman, Portland, OR

Superb. Almost a dream like quality, it was so beautiful. As a solo traveler I was made to feel a part of the group. I will highly recommend you.

Melinda Pratt, Tigard, OR

I felt very fortunate to have experienced my first kayaking trip with such an eloquent, knowledgeable, fun-loving, life-loving guide. He allowed me to truly enjoy the expedition because he warranted my complete respect and trust throughout the adventure. Great work on your planning. We had a great time. Pretty exhilarating for a landlubber like myself!

Julie Briggs, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA

I loved the sea kayaks! They were so stable and beautiful. They were quite comfortable even though I am not very tall. The guide was wonderful, intelligent, humorous, and full of information. His meals were delicious and full of tender care. ‘Relax’ seemed to be the key word. I felt pampered and waited on the entire time. It was a five-day long high! Every second was magical. Every sunrise – every moonrise. The best, most spiritual experience of my entire life. It truly changed my perspective on life. I came home a different person!

Joanne Derby, San Francisco, CA

A terrific kayak trip! Mark did an excellent job. I would recommend it to anyone.

Dave Hoedemaker, Seattle, WA

Mark is an excellent kayak guide – very knowledgeable and good at passing that knowledge on to others. I enjoyed his humor and admired his integrity. He made everyone feel at ease and able to enjoy the experience. I’m recommending you to all my friends.

Amy Wickham, Boulder, CO

Just wanted to thank you folks for a great vacation. We both appreciated all of your efforts to educate us to the ways of the kayaking environment and the ecology/zoology of Puget Sound. I was very pleased to benefit from your knowledge and experience – it added a lot to the beautiful setting. It is gratifying to know that individuals like you are making the commitment to study the environment and introduce so many ‘outsiders’ to nature. Keep up the good work.

Mike Mogal, New York, NY

Absolutely the best! Both guides showed enthusiasm and knowledge far beyond what could be expected – exceptional people. Food was delicious and substantial.

Vince Nibler, Berkeley, CA

I felt very secure with our guide’s knowledge of the local waters and his extensive experience. The food was excellent from the content to the presentation. We’ve come back once now already and I’m sure we’ll be back again. There’s nothing like it!

Sarah Jackson, Cleveland, OH

Thanks for leading such a wonderful kayak trip. It was everything I hoped it would be and more. Your incredible expertise and concern for excellence made the trip truly outstanding. I hope to make it on another tour again sometime. In the meantime, you can be sure I’m spreading the word!

Dorle Vawter, Minneapolis, MN

As you can tell, I had a great time! It’s hard to believe that just a month ago, I was essentially at the ends of the earth. It was fantastic!

Mark Hoffman, Redmond, WA

The staff was great. Everyone was not only experienced in kayaking but very knowledgeable about the region, sea life, geology, and more. It was a learning experience. Excellent! I would do it again in a flash.

Brad Rodgers, Amarillo, TX

The kayak trip I just finished was a ball – an absolute joy in every respect. I had never kayaked before but I always felt safe. Everything provided was in tip-top shape and got the job done. I think that very special praise should go to the guides. They were excellent. More than any other factor, Martine made the kayak trip! Her very special personality stamped itself onto a great personal experience for me from the very first moment. The whole package was without fault. A-1 quality!

Paul Bromberg, Bellmore, NY

GUEST REVIEWS

best kayak tours san juan island Sea Quest Kayak Tours

Our guests comments and opinions are extremely important to us. Each guest is provided an evaluation form at the end of their kayak trip so they may contribute their suggestions and ideas. These kayak trip reviews have led to most of the improvements we have made to our kayak tours over the years. We want to hear from you!